When I read I become lost

When I read I become lost to this world.  For moments after I lift my eyes from the page I find it hard to refocus on reality. I see the landscape of fiction around me, hear in my head the voices of the writer’s imagination. So, when almost thirty years ago, the man sitting opposite to me in the train from Liverpool to Euston plucked the book from my hands, I was taken aback. I had been quite unaware of his presence in the carriage with me.

from The Illusionist by Jennifer Johnston

Leave a Reply

